Board elects 2023-2024 officers

Gov. Whitmer makes appointments to the Michigan Wheat Program board

Lansing, Mich.  (September 22, 2023) – The Michigan Wheat Program (MWP) gained a new board member when Gov. Whitmer made one new and two re-appointments to the nine-member MWP board. All are three-year appointments that expire May 31, 2026.

. . . . . . . .


Dwight Bartle, a wheat grower from Brown City in Sanilac County (District 5), is a new appointment to the Board. Dwight and his wife, Nancy, participate in and have been winners at varying levels in past wheat yield contests and are participants in the Great Lakes Yield Enhancement Network.

He prioritizes consistent high production levels on his farm where they grow wheat, corn, soybeans and sugar beets in rural Brown City, and was formerly an award-winning dairy cattle producer.

Dwight is most interested in soil health and the ability to attain consistent high yields. He wanted to join the MI Wheat Program Board to work with others to achieve a balance of production and profitability.  He believes the future of Michigan wheat is to “continue our path of research to ensure wheat is a sustainable crop in Michigan.”

. . . . . . . .


Jeff Krohn of Owendale (District 7), current chairman of the Board was re-appointed and will serve a second term on the Board. He is the owner of Northern Thumb Crop Consulting and manages his own family farm, Krohn Acres, which produces wheat, corn, soybeans, dry beans, sugar beets and alfalfa.

Carl Wagner III of Niles (District 2) was also re-appointed to a second term. He is a member of Wagner Family Farms; a retail agronomist for Co-Alliance, LLP; and the owner and operator of C3 Seeds of Niles. Wagner holds a Bachelor of Science in Crop and Soil Agronomic Sciences from Michigan State University.

“Michigan wheat farmers continue to be well-served by the diverse backgrounds in agriculture and business represented among our Board of Directors,” said Jody Pollok-Newsom, executive director of the Michigan Wheat Program.  “Bringing these different perspectives together among our nine-person Board keeps the conversation lively and provides fresh perspectives on markets, research and production that benefits all 8,000 wheat farmers in Michigan.”

Officers elected. At the Board’s August 29-30 research meeting, they also elected officers for the 2023-2024 business year.  Returning as chairman is Jeff Krohn of Owendale; as vice chairman Brent Wagner of Grawn; Lyn Uphaus of Manchester as secretary; and Tony Bohac of Owosso as treasurer.

The Michigan Wheat Program is a check-off organization funded entirely by the farmers who grow wheat in at least 78 of Michigan’s 83 counties.  It was created and voted in by the state’s wheat farmers in 2011, and re-authorized in 2016 and 2021, as a commodity check-off organization to advance the interests of wheat grown in the state.  The program is authorized by Michigan Public Act 232 and supports the strategic priorities of wheat farmers by working with input suppliers, seed producers, millers, end users and consumers.  Research and grower education are top priorities for the organization.