2023-2024 MI Wheat Board seated, officers elected

Jeff Krohn
Dwight Bartle
Carl Wagner III

In late August, the Michigan Wheat Program welcomed a new Board member and saw the re-appointment of two current Board members, by Gov. Gretchen Whitmer. The Board then elected officers and began moving into its research line-up of projects for the 2024 harvest.

New to the Board is wheat grower Dwight Bartle from Brown City in Sanilac County. Bartle was appointed to represent District 5, replacing Sally McConnachie of Deckerville who was term-limited off the Board.

Dwight Bartle produces wheat, corn, soybeans and sugar beets in rural Brown City, along with raising award-winning dairy cattle.  He farms with his wife, Nancy, and the two of them have participated in and been winners at varying levels in past wheat yield contests. They raised two sons, Scott and Brian, on their Brown City farm.

Dwight is most interested in soil health and the ability to attain consistent high yields. He wanted to join the MI Wheat Board to work with others to achieve a balance of production and profitability.  And he believes the future of Michigan wheat is to “continue our path of research to ensure wheat is a sustainable crop in Michigan.”

Bartle’s other community service includes serving on the board of his milk cooperative, hosting a dozen exchange students through Youth for Understanding USA and supporting the Eastern Michigan Food Bank with the Safari Club International of Flint.


The Governor re-appointed two current MI Wheat Board members to additional three-year terms running through June 2026:

Jeff Krohn of Owendale (District 7), current chairman of the Board was re-appointed and will serve a second term on the Board. He is the owner of Northern Thumb Crop Consulting and manages his own family farm, Krohn Acres, which produces wheat, corn, soybeans, dry beans, sugar beets and alfalfa.

Carl Wagner III of Niles (District 2) was re-appointed to a second term. He is a member of Wagner Family Farms; a retail agronomist for Co-Alliance, LLP; and the owner and operator of C3 Seeds of Niles. Wagner holds a Bachelor of Science in Crop and Soil Agronomic Sciences from Michigan State University.

“Michigan wheat farmers continue to be well-served by the diverse backgrounds in agriculture and business represented among our Board of Directors,” commented Jody Pollok-Newsom, executive director of the Michigan Wheat Program.  “Bringing these different perspectives together on our nine-person Board keeps the conversation lively and provides fresh perspectives on markets, research and production that benefits all 8,000 wheat farms in Michigan.”

Officers Elected.

At the same meeting, the Board elected officers for the 2023-2024 business year. The slate is the same as last year.

  • Chairman is Jeff Krohn of Owendale;
  • Vice Chairman: is Brent Wagner of Grawn;
  • Secretary is Lyn Uphaus of Manchester; and
  • Treasurer is Tony Bohac of Owosso.

. . . . .

Congratulations to all and we appreciate your service!